My view on Capitalism


Capitalism– economic system in which industry is privately owned.

Two years ago when my husband and I were looking for a house to purchase for the first time, our realtor took us to several homes that were foreclosed.  In my own stupidity I thought it was ok for her to show us these homes because she was helping us to find a home that was a lot of home but not a lot of money.  Upon viewing these homes I noticed a lot of them were badly damaged some had hope but others did not.  Our realtor told us that people would do this so that it would be harder for the bank to sell them.

Still perplexed about this information we saw a foreclosed home that we absolutely loved with a lot of potential behind the ruins and the price was a steal. We made an offer to the bank and it was accepted but when the Inspector came to the property they told us all the things that were wrong with it and there were stipulations to getting a FHA loan that others didn’t have because they had a higher Interest Rate.  Needless to say we didn’t get it and I’m glad we didn’t especially what I know now.  The house down the block from where we live now was almost considered condemned because it had cat feces, urine all over the home and it was in bad shape; it was also a foreclose home and was being sold at a dirt cheap price. 

What is my point?  Well, I’m glad God shut the doors for those homes that were foreclosed because these were homes that belonged to people who couldn’t continue the payments and the bank forced them out of their home and out of that anger they damaged the property making it difficult to resell. Even to those homes that were paid off but borrowed against their home for home improvements.  I’m not saying this is right but all the hard work and sweat they put in that homes were snatched away.

That home down the block from where we live now was bought from an Investor and was fixed up and now was valued at the price we brought our home.  But if you think about it our home is our home as long as we don’t default on the payments; the moment we do the bank will kick us out as well.  All that work we invested in our home for nothing.

As I looked at all the rooms in our home and our vehicles I realized that a small percentage was literally ours.  We have a vehicle that is a 2000 so it is almost 12 years old and she works but only when she chooses too.  Not very mechanics know what is wrong with this car so we keep saying that we need to get rid of it but don’t want to get in debt with another car payment but how bogus is that when we are in debt with the credit card companies and school loans.  Almost everything in our home is owned by some bank.  That my friend is Capitalism!  What happened to those days when we weren’t in debt with credit cards or in debt with student loans?  How did we get into this mess, and how do we get out? 

This is what God tells us about borrowing:

The rich ruleth over the poor, and the borrower is servant to the lender. – Proverbs 22:7

In Matthew 6:24, Jesus tells us that we can’t serve two masters. It is implied that we should serve God and nothing else. We serve God with our time. If we are in debt, we become servants to the banks and credit holders with our time until we payback what we owe. When we are loaded down with debt, we are spending our time serving our debt holders to pay them back. Therefore, we are not free to serve God with our time because our time is already accounted for.  When we borrow money, we are not operating in the blessing God has called us to according to Deuteronomy 28:12. In fact, when we borrow money, we are basically telling God “I cannot wait for you to get the money to me, so I will get it myself.” God should be our provider not the bank.   Article written by Amos Johnson, Jr PhD

9 thoughts on “My view on Capitalism

  1. In my situation there are 77 townhouses in the condo association. 20 are paid up for maintenance. 57 are in arrears. Of those, 10 are in bank foreclosure and we have gotten nothing from them for 3-6 years! My home is paid off but as my 88 year old parents live with me I moved out and am renting because the water may get shut off at any time over there. We collect only 70% of what is needed to run the place. They are all immigrant people and have learned how to cheat and beat the system and they have the money as there seem to be no cars older than 2008. I can’t even get 20 cents on a dollar to sell. These people are not beset by misfortune, they just know it takes years and years to get evicted. They are crooks and will make those of us who pay lose everything. Capitalism? The megabanks and megacorps run things so that the rest of us cannot earn enough to become participants in the economy. Americans have been disenfranchised politically and economically.

    • Carl, I agree with you I believe that immigrants cheat the system while the rest of us honest people seem to lose out and why……because we are honest. I believe that if we continue to trust God for those that have nothing to those losing because of Capitalism; we as a community need to take a stand and voice our concerns. One person can’t do it but if we all keep sitting back and doing nothing then we have no right to complain. I just wished I knew how to this personally.

    • J, that is so very kind of you and I thank you so very much. My sincere gratitude to you. God’s blessing to you as well my friend.

  2. Great post. The best thing we can do is stay out of debt – and if we’re already in debt get out as soon as possible and stay out. I’ve done some training with Crown Financial Ministries and they’re great at helping people work out a plan to get and stay debt free. They also teach what God says about money in the Bible. It all belongs to Him.

    • I agree, got a little taste of it and found it to be unsettling as well. Thanks for sharing Pstok. As usual, I appreciate you and what you have to write. Blessings to you.

  3. True, the banks own our homes, cars, and anything else we have financed. If you think more about it, we don’t own anything in this life. Ownership (in my opinion) is an illusion. We can claim to own our money, personal belongings, and even our children. But if we are ill and end up at the death bed, none of this “belongings” will matter. We will not take anything to the grave. This is why I have learned to claim nothing as mine, including “my life”.

Comments are closed.